Indian Film Festival of Melbourne 2024 Announces Nominations: Jawan, Chandu Champion, 12th Fail, Kaathal, Maharaja, Laapataa Ladies lead film nominations; Made in Heaven 2, Kohrra, Poacher lead OTT nominations

The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) 2024 returns with its 15th edition, announcing the most anticipated nominations of the year. As the largest Indian film festival held on foreign soil, IFFM nominations are year on year an indication of the diversity and depth of the content from across India.  

The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM), backed and presented by the Victorian Government in Australia is an annual celebration of Indian cinema, showcasing the best films, digital series and talents from India. The festival aims to promote cultural exchange, celebrate the diversity of Indian cinema on an international stage. This year the festival is set to commence on 15th August and concluding on 25th August. The IFFM awards have become the flagship award of this the yearly award season that truly embodies the spirit of inclusion, diversity, languages, scale and genres. 

This year, the festival will see the King Khan aka Shah Rukh Khan, competing with some of the best talents across languages for the Best Actor category, including Vikrant Massey, Fahadh Faasil, Ranveer Singh, Kartik Aaryan, Mithun Chakraborty, among others. Similarly, actress Alia Bhatt will be competing for the coveted Best Actress category alongside the immensely talent Jyothika and Parvathy Thiruvothu, and emerging talents from "Laapataa Ladies" Nitanshi Goel and Pratibha Ranta. In the OTT category shows and talents of series including Heeramandi, Poacher, Made In Heaven Season 2 among others will be competing for the win. 

The winners of the prestigious IFFM 2024 Awards will be announced during the festival at their annual gala night on 16th and is set to be hosted at the Palais Theatre in Melbourne. 

Below are the list of nominations


1. 12th Fail (Hindi)
2. Amar Singh Chamkila (Hindi) 
3. Chandu Champion (Hindi)
4. Dunki (Hindi)
5. Jawan (Hindi)
6. Maharaja (Tamil)
7. Premalu (Malayalam)
8. Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani (Hindi)

1. Dear Jassi (Punjabi)
2. Girls Will Be Girls (English/Hindi)
3. Kaathal - The Core (Malayalam)
4. Kabuliwala (Bengali)
5. Laapataa Ladies (Hindi)⁠
6. Rapture (Garo)
7. ⁠Sapta Sagaradaache Ello - Side A (Kannada)
8. ⁠Thadavu (The Sentence) (Malayalam)

1. Diljit Dosanjh - Amar Singh Chamkila 
2. Fahadh Faasil - Aavesham
3. Kartik Aaryan - Chandu Champion
4. Mammootty - Kaathal - The Core 
5. Mithun Chakraborty – Kabuliwala
6. Ranveer Singh - Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani  
7. Shah Rukh Khan – Dunki & Jawan
8. Sparsh Shrivastava – Laapataa Ladies 
9. Vicky Kaushal - Sam Bahadur
10. Vikrant Massey - 12th Fail 

1. Alia Bhatt - Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani 
2. Alizeh Agnihotri – Farrey
3. Beena R Chandran - Thadavu (The Sentence)
4. Jyothika – Kaathal - The Core
5. Nitanshi Goel – Laapataa Ladies 
6. Parvathy Thiruvothu – Ullozhukku (Undercurrent)
7. Pratibha Ranta – Laapataa Ladies
8. Preeti Panigrahi - Girls will be Girls
9. Sanya Malhotra for Mrs
10. Swathi Reddy - Month of Madhu 

1. Imtiaz Ali – Amar Singh Chamkila
2. Kabir Khan – Chandu Champion
3. Karan Johar - Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani 
4. ⁠Nithilan Saminathan – Maharaja
5. ⁠Rahul Sadasivan - Bramayugam
6. ⁠Rajkumar Hirani - Dunki
7. ⁠Vidhu Vinod Chopra - 12th Fail

1. Christo Tomy - Ullozhukku (Undercurrent)
2. Diwa Shah - Bahadur - The Brave
3. Dominic Sangma – Rimdogittanga (Rapture)
4. Hemanth Rao - Sapta Sagaradaache Ello - Side A
5. ⁠Kiran Rao - Laapataa Ladies
6. ⁠Saurav Rai – Guras
7. Shuchi Talati – Girls will be Girls
8. ⁠Sumanth Bhat - Mithya

1. Dhootha (Telugu)
2. Heeramandi (Hindi)
3. Kohrra (Hindi)
4. Made in Heaven 2 (Hindi)
5. Panchayat Season 3 (Hindi)
6. Poacher (Malayalam)
7. The Railway Men (Hindi)

1. Arjun Mathur - Made in Heaven 2 
2. Babil Khan - The Railway Men
3. Gulshan Devaiah – Guns & Gulaabs
4. Jitendra Kumar – Panchayat Season 3
5. Naveen Chandra - Inspector Rishi
6. R. Madhavan - The Railway Men 
7. Roshan Mathew – Poacher
8. Suvinder Vicky - Kohrra

1. Harleen Sethi - Kohrra
2. Karishma Tanna - Scoop
3. Neena Gupta – Panchayat Season 3
4. Nimisha Sajayan – Poacher
5. Parvathy Thiruvothu – Dhootha
6. Shriya Pilgaonkar – The Broken News 2
7. Sobhita Dhulipala - Made in Heaven 2

1. Farming the Revolution
2. Flickering Lights
3. Headhunting to Beatboxing
4. Indi(r)a’s Emergency
5. Insides and Outsides
6. Trolley Times

1. Barir Naam Shahana (A House Named Shahana) - Bangladesh
2. Paradise – Sri Lanka
3. The Monk and the Gun - Bhutan
4. The Red Suitcase - Nepal
5. Wakhri (One of a Kind) - Pakistan

No comments